Problem with total energy in Electrostacis/StatElecSolve model

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
iguaz
Antispam: Yes

Problem with total energy in Electrostacis/StatElecSolve model

Post by iguaz »

Hello!

I’m new in Elmer and I have a problem with the energy calculation in the Electrostatics model.

I have a created a complex geometry with gmsh + ElmerGrid composed of:
1) A germanium volume of 4 mm thickness divided in two pieces.
2) 7 hexagonal germanium pixels (1 central & 1 ring of six around) situated on the top side of the germanium volume.
3) 7 cylindrical copper bars at the center of each pixel.
4) Different vacuum/air volumes in the interspace of pixels & around the copper bars.
5) A ceramic volume on top of the copper bars.

My goal is to estimate the capacitance of each pixel, using as a reference the bottom side of the germanium volume. This seems to work when I use the “capacitance matrix” and values are ~1.2-1.5 pF, which are more or less what I expect.

I have then tried to verify the correctness of these values using the total energy, as it should be the sum of 0.5 x C x V^2 terms. With this aim, I have first set all electrodes to 0 V and I have then consecutively set the pixels (with its corresponding copper bar) to 100 V.

However, the values I obtain are non-sense:

Pixels to 100 V -------------> Energy (10^-8 x J)
----------------------------------------------------------
Central ------------------------> 0.698
Central + 1 pixel -------------> 1.004
Central + 2 pixel -------------> 1.032
Central + 3 pixel -------------> 1.038
Central + 4 pixel -------------> 1.025
Central + 5 pixel -------------> 0.973
Central + 6 pixel -------------> 0.661

I don’t know if any boundary condition is missing or anything else.

I have also tried not to mesh the copper bar volumes, with the same results.

I attach you the .geo and .sif files, as well as three images for illustration. I’m using the last version of Elmer.