Reynolds Module: Iterating Elmer solvers and integral calculation

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
josie
Antispam: Yes

Reynolds Module: Iterating Elmer solvers and integral calculation

Post by josie »

Hello Elmer users,
I am fairly new to Elmer and am working with the Reynolds module for thin films. A relatively common approach taken to avoid coupling the Reynolds equation with 3D elastic deformation is the half-space approximation, which involves an integral formula for the film height ("Gap Height") in terms of the pressure:
filmheight.png
filmheight.png (15.38 KiB) Viewed 2215 times
This leads to an iterative scheme where a gap height is computed from the film pressure and vice versa until some form of convergence is acheived.

In order to use this method with the Elmer Reynolds module, I need to compute the integral (with a singular integrand) for each relevant point (i.e. each integration point and/or vertex?) and also iterate these computations.
For the iterations, I am considering external scripting like is advised in this forum post: viewtopic.php?t=3305 Is this still best practice?
For the integral, I am planning to write a solver module that adapts the calculation of the force integral in the Reynolds Postprocessing solver. Are you aware of a simpler way or other modules with similar integral calculations?
I am also not sure of the best format to input the computed, variable gap height -- the most direct way would probably be if it's possible to pass an array with the values at integration points, which could then be used to set up the matrix for the pressure calculation. Do you have any recommendations here?

Thanks in advance!
raback
Site Admin

Re: Reynolds Module: Iterating Elmer solvers and integral calculation

Post by raback »

Hi