Creating Custom Volume/Phase Content Parameters

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
sslone
Antispam: Yes

Creating Custom Volume/Phase Content Parameters

Post by sslone »

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to Elmer, recently switched over from Abaqus, and am wanting to import a framework I had developed in Abaqus. I'm wanting to model the ice content of freezing soils, and am in need of understanding a few basic components of Elmer's design process that I've not quite figured out from the documentation.

What I'm wanting to do is create a variable representing ice volume content that updates an individual element based on the current saturation/water pressure and temperature, then use that variable to define conductivity, mechanical strength, etc for the element. Calculating the conductivity and other innate material properties I believe I know how to do, but what I'm having issues with is the creation of that initial variable itself, whether it should be a field parameter or something else or how to even declare it. Would it exist inside of the material or solver statements in the .sif, or is it in need of a brand new subroutine solver? I've messed around with creating solvers and user functions but appear to be flying blind for the most part.

Can anyone give any recommendations on how to create a custom material property that updates every timestep based on temperature and water pressure, which can then be used to define other material properties?

Thanks,
Someone New
kevinarden

Re: Creating Custom Volume/Phase Content Parameters

Post by kevinarden »

http://www.elmerfem.org/blog/

Elmer/ICE community, elmerice.elmerfem.org
sslone

Post by sslone »