Heat gap boundary condition with unstructured meshes

General discussion about Elmer
polakse
Antispam: Yes

Heat gap boundary condition with unstructured meshes

Post by polakse »

Hi, I'm new to Elmer and this is my first post on the forum...

I'm attempting to use Elmer to solve a heat transfer simulation through solid bodies. Eventually I would like to simulate an assembly with 10+ individual bodies, but initially I'm just trying to get an example working with two solid cubes that are in contact. Between each of my solid bodies, there is some thermal contact conductance/resistance that I would like to define. The "heat gap" type boundary condition in Elmer appears well-suited to simulate this interface thermal resistance.

If I understand correctly, it appears the following steps are required to model a "heat gap":
1) The "interface" boundary needs to have a secondary set of nodes
2) Create a boundary condition where the "heat gap" option is selected/true, a heat transfer coeff is specified, and the external temperature (corresponding to the heat transfer coeff) is set to zero

Now, for my questions:
1) is the above procedure correct?
2) the actual geometry I'm simulating is complex and will be meshed with tets - can Elmergrid -discont x (invoked from the command line) be applied to unstructured meshes (i.e. *.msh)?
3) is Elmergrid -discont the only option I have for adding secondary nodes? or can this be done in Gmsh, Netgen, Salome, etc?

I have many more questions, but I'll try to find answers myself before bugging folks on this forum. Thanks in advance for the help. And also thanks to all who have helped develop Elmer - it appears to be a great tool!
Takala

Re: Heat gap boundary condition with unstructured meshes

Post by Takala »

Hi Polakse,

here you can find tests for most of the functionality in elmer: http://sourceforge.net/p/elmerfem/code/ ... fem/tests/

There is a test also for heat gap: http://sourceforge.net/p/elmerfem/code/ ... s/HeatGap/