[resolved] Output Intervals logic is wrong

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
Post Reply
uwestoehr
Posts: 38
Joined: 05 Aug 2022, 14:42
Antispam: Yes

[resolved] Output Intervals logic is wrong

Post by uwestoehr »

I have a problem with the output interval logic and file name:

I have this setting in my case.sif:

Code: Select all

Output Intervals(2) = 1 1
  Timestep intervals(2) = 2 2
  Timestep Sizes(2) = 0.05 0.02
This gives me 4 *.vtu files as it should

but this input

Code: Select all

Output Intervals(2) = 2 2
  Timestep intervals(2) = 2 2
  Timestep Sizes(2) = 0.05 0.02
should give me just 2, but I get 3.

So I made an extreme case of no output at all:

Code: Select all

Output Intervals(2) = 3 3
  Timestep intervals(2) = 2 2
  Timestep Sizes(2) = 0.05 0.02
but I get 3 outputs.

and the second attempt to get no output:

Code: Select all

Output Intervals(2) = 0 0
  Timestep intervals(2) = 2 2
  Timestep Sizes(2) = 0.05 0.02
gives me 1.

So I don't get the output intervals logic. Can anybody help me please?

I also struggle to understand what output is for what file. For example I get this output file:

Code: Select all

case_t0002.vtu
it is unknown what time step 2 had. Depending on the output intervals setting, this could be 0.05 s or 0.1 s.
So is there an option to write the actual time to the file name. e.g.

Code: Select all

case_t000.050.vtu
means it was time 0.050 s
and

Code: Select all

case_t012.300.vtu
means it was time 12.3 s
Last edited by uwestoehr on 26 Mar 2023, 10:55, edited 1 time in total.
uwestoehr
Posts: 38
Joined: 05 Aug 2022, 14:42
Antispam: Yes

Re: Output Intervals logic is wrong

Post by uwestoehr »

uwestoehr wrote: 25 Mar 2023, 04:54

Code: Select all

Output Intervals(2) = 2 2
  Timestep intervals(2) = 2 2
  Timestep Sizes(2) = 0.05 0.02
should give me just 2, but I get 3.
OK, I get it now: the interval always begins with 1. So in every case you get a result for the first time of an interval. The third result is the final one.
uwestoehr wrote: 25 Mar 2023, 04:54 I also struggle to understand what output is for what file.
an improvement for this issue would be very valuable because when I look at my results after e.g. half a year I cannot remember that time 2 was.
hielau
Posts: 12
Joined: 26 Sep 2017, 19:18
Antispam: Yes

Re: Output Intervals logic is wrong

Post by hielau »

You can add time collection to your result vtu files.

Code: Select all

Vtu Time Collection = Logical True
It will create additional .pvd file that contains timestep information of each vtu file.
uwestoehr
Posts: 38
Joined: 05 Aug 2022, 14:42
Antispam: Yes

Re: Output Intervals logic is wrong

Post by uwestoehr »

hielau wrote: 25 Mar 2023, 11:39

Code: Select all

Vtu Time Collection = Logical True
It will create additional .pvd file that contains timestep information of each vtu file.
Many thanks! This is what I needed.
(This way I could eventually provide proper transient solving support for Elmer via FreeCAD.)
Post Reply