Page 1 of 1

bug: AVWhitney (DG) Elemental data (cell data) -> Paraview

Posted: 03 Apr 2013, 10:59
by Takala
Hi,

I have tried to export cell data to Paraview from Elmer. The data is generated with AV Whitney module using the DG and elemental data.

This is what I use when I try to output with ResultOutput:

Code: Select all

Solver 5
  Exec Solver = after timestep
  Equation = "ResultOutput"
  Procedure = "ResultOutputSolve" "ResultOutputSolver"
  Output File Name = refined
  Exec Solver = String "after timestep"	
  Vtu format = Logical true
  Scalar Field 1 = P
  Vector Field 1 = String "Magnetic Flux Density"
  Vector Field Elemental 1 = String "Magnetic Flux Density E"
End
That does not produce any elemental data into my output file (not in .ptvu nor in .vtu files). Thus I change it into this:

Code: Select all

Solver 5
  Exec Solver = after timestep
  Equation = "ResultOutput"
  Procedure = "ResultOutputSolve" "ResultOutputSolver"
  Output File Name = refined
  Exec Solver = String "after timestep"	
  Vtu format = Logical true
  Scalar Field 1 = P
  Vector Field 1 = String "Magnetic Flux Density"
  Vector Field Elemental 2 = String "Magnetic Flux Density E"
End
Still I don't get the data in the .ptvu file but unlike previously I get something into the .vtu files which contain the data for the partitions. However, that too looks a bit distorted (see image). I have tried some other cases as well where I get clean data but always in the .vtu, and never in .ptvu. Now I cannot reproduce the clean data.

Could you please tell me if I do something wrong or if this is a bug?

Cheers,

Eelis

Re: bug: AVWhitney (DG) Elemental data (cell data) -> Paraview

Posted: 09 Apr 2013, 20:11
by raback
Hi Eelis

I just tried to improve the logic a bit. Now the "... elemental .." keyword is obsolite. The code knows whether it is elemental or not. If fact the postprocessor solver for AV solver makes by default DG fields that are elemental. I also updated a case "mgdyn_bh" where the new logic works - and also the old one.

-Peter

Re: bug: AVWhitney (DG) Elemental data (cell data) -> Paraview

Posted: 10 Apr 2013, 08:46
by Takala
Thanks a lot Peter!

Now, when I use similar convention with the "ResultOutput" as you, I have the correct .ptvu file.

However, I still have those "blue triangles" in my result... I mean those in the pictures above. They are very strange: When I rotate the view of my result model, the position of those triangles change (with respect to the rotating model). Also, when I make a "slice" operation, they disappear. Probably, it is a problem with my Paraview configuration.

Anyway, many thanks for your help,

Eelis

Re: bug: AVWhitney (DG) Elemental data (cell data) -> Paraview

Posted: 14 Jan 2014, 12:30
by PaulBass
Takala wrote:Hi,

I have tried to export cell data to Paraview from Elmer. The data is generated with AV Whitney module using the DG and solar panel data.

This is what I use when I try to output with ResultOutput:

Code: Select all

Solver 5
  Exec Solver = after timestep
  Equation = "ResultOutput"
  Procedure = "ResultOutputSolve" "ResultOutputSolver"
  Output File Name = refined
  Exec Solver = String "after timestep"	
  Vtu format = Logical true
  Scalar Field 1 = P
  Vector Field 1 = String "Magnetic Flux Density"
  Vector Field Elemental 1 = String "Magnetic Flux Density E"
End
That does not produce any elemental data into my output file (not in .ptvu nor in .vtu files). Thus I change it into this:

Code: Select all

Solver 5
  Exec Solver = after timestep
  Equation = "ResultOutput"
  Procedure = "ResultOutputSolve" "ResultOutputSolver"
  Output File Name = refined
  Exec Solver = String "after timestep"	
  Vtu format = Logical true
  Scalar Field 1 = P
  Vector Field 1 = String "Magnetic Flux Density"
  Vector Field Elemental 2 = String "Magnetic Flux Density E"
End
Still I don't get the data in the .ptvu file but unlike previously I get something into the .vtu files which contain the data for the partitions. However, that too looks a bit distorted (see image). I have tried some other cases as well where I get clean data but always in the .vtu, and never in .ptvu. Now I cannot reproduce the clean data.

Could you please tell me if I do something wrong or if this is a bug?

Cheers,

Eelis
Were you able to find our the right logic.. I am facing similar bug so can you help me in sorting it out? Waiting for reply thanks in advance:)