How to Write Boundary Conditions?

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
sunyuan
Antispam: Yes

How to Write Boundary Conditions?

Post by sunyuan »

Dear Experts

I'm a newbie of Elmer and Gmsh, I was trying to make a wire system which has a anode wire with 8 field wire surround it, total 9 wires (it's a squared cell).
I made 9 wires geometries with Gmsh and generated mesh, converted by ElmerGrid, then I tried to write .sif file for ElmerSolver, but I don't know how to write the boundary condition. I mean, I want to set the boundaries like: 1800V for anode and 0 for cathode, but when I look at the mesh.header file there were way more elements and boundary elements... So my question is: How can I find the specific wire surface and set them to a certain potential?
Rich_B

Re: How to Write Boundary Conditions?

Post by Rich_B »

Hello,

Please review chapter 9 in GetStartedElmer.pdf, the information about using gmsh and ElmerGUI apply to linux users as well as windows users.

https://www.nic.funet.fi/pub/sci/physic ... dElmer.pdf

In other words, open your gmsh created mesh in ElmerGUI (Open, not Open Mesh), and you can select your boundary numbers.

One other tip, be sure to add -autoclean to your elmergrid conversion commands.

Rich.
sunyuan

Post by sunyuan »

Please review chapter 9 in GetStartedElmer.pdf, the information about using gmsh and ElmerGUI apply to linux users as well as windows users.
Thank you for the information, but I just forgot to mention that I don't have the GUI of Elmer in my PC because I had a trouble to install proper QT version. Is that a way to choose wires without GUI? I mean the solution exactly in the .sif file.
kevinarden

Post by kevinarden »

The boundaries are defined in the mesh.boundary file. The bodies in mesh.elements
The format of the files are on page 123 of this manual
https://www.nic.funet.fi/pub/sci/physic ... Manual.pdf
sunyuan

Post by sunyuan »