KDE Plasma Version: 5.20.5
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.78.0
Qt Version: 5.15.2
Kernel Version: 5.10.0-16-amd64
OS Type: 64-bit
Processors: 4 × AMD FX(tm)-4350 Quad-Core Processor
Memory: 15.6 GiB of RAM
Graphics Processor: AMD CAICOS

I have been trying to model a speaker coupled to a helmholtz resonator (bass reflex system). I wish to apply a constant amplitude sinusoidal force to the speaker (plate) and obtain the speaker deflection vs frequency. Because of some things that I plan to do to modify the system, I can't use the usual off the shelf design software that is available.

Since the plate and resonator interact, I need a coupled system. This is my first attempt to use coupled solvers and I am at a total loss. Attached is a tar file that contains the whole project as far a I have gotten. The device is modeled in FreeCAD, Exported as a .brep file that is meshed with gmsh (latest). The .msh file is run through ElmerGrid (ElmerGrid 14 2 ArcTest2.msh -autoclean -merge 0.25). I set up the plate as a spring mass system whose parameters are conversions of the Thiel parameters of the speaker. Could anyone fill in the blanks for me?

Screenshot_20220830_143529.png
Screenshot_20220830_143529.png (4.41 KiB) Viewed 533 times

Gary R.
Attachments
Testjig3.tar.gz
(395.64 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
kevinarden
Antispam: Yes

Re: Speaker Resonator Interaction

Post by kevinarden »

The first error I received was unrecognized keyword Spring changed it to
Spring = Real 1.471E+03
Second error was the helmholtz solver could not find frequency added frequency to solver 1
Frequency = 5000.0
Third error was it could not find youngs modulus, poisson ration, thickness for the plate solver added to material 2
Youngs Modulus = 1.E8
Poisson Ratio = .3
Thickness = 1

It then provided a solution
deflection.png
(34.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
case.sif
(3.39 KiB) Downloaded 33 times
raback
Site Admin

Post by raback »

Hi