Reproducing NAFEMS benchmark test

General discussion about Elmer
cghw01
Antispam: Yes

Reproducing NAFEMS benchmark test

Post by cghw01 »

Hello,
I am new to Elmer (but not so new to FEM), and after going through a number of ElmerGUI tutorial examples, I decided I wanted to try going all the way from generating a geometry in gmsh to solving the problem in Elmer. I followed the YouTube video here:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C42MR4WkJd4 and succeeded in getting the desired result. I then went on to trying to reproduce a predicted result using a NAFEMS benchmark test (https://www.nafems.org/). I have attached a couple of images which describe the benchmark test. It is an axisymmetric (vertical axis) tube with the 3 outer boundaries kept at 293.15 K and the innermost boundary (nearest the axis) kept at zero flux (top and bottom sections) and the middle section with a heat flux of 5x10^5 W/m^2. The thermal conductivity is 52 W/Km. The NAFEMS benchmark gives a temperature prediction at a certain location. I go through the same procedure as was described in the video, but at the moment, all I see is a flat temperature of 293.15 K everywhere. I am probably making a simpleton mistake, but so far it has eluded me.

I have attached the sif file but no more, as I seem to be limited to just 3 attachments.

If anyone can suggest a way forward, it would be appreciated.

Many thanks in advance

Chris Walker
Attachments
case.sif
(2.41 KiB) Downloaded 38 times
AxisymmetricSteadyStateThermal_2.png
AxisymmetricSteadyStateThermal_2.png (6.06 KiB) Viewed 636 times
AxisymmetricSteadyStateThermal_1.png
AxisymmetricSteadyStateThermal_1.png (3.69 KiB) Viewed 636 times
kevinarden

Re: Reproducing NAFEMS benchmark test

Post by kevinarden »

nafemsheat.zip
(240.05 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
Wyatt57

Post by Wyatt57 »

Hello,

Thank you for the download link, the file will certainly be of great help to me.
cghw01

Post by cghw01 »

Hello,
Thankyou Kevin for providing a solution.