Coupling Magnetodynamics to Fluid dynamics

Numerical methods and mathematical models of Elmer
metermera
Antispam: Yes

Coupling Magnetodynamics to Fluid dynamics

Post by metermera »

I am new to Elmer but have been impressed so far. I have been able to run the provided TEAM7 3D magnetodynamics test cases on Github without too many problems even on new meshes built on Salome. I am trying to see if I can use Elmer to solve the appropriate formulations of Maxwells and Navier-Stokes equations iteratively for a conductor moving azimuthally through a solenoid magnetic field. The conductor can be assumed to be a metal sphere and the coil a cylinder, giving good degree of axisymmetry to the problem.

I have been able to achieve the static case (i.e. a static conductor near a solenoid coil) using Coilsolver as it is similar to the Transient TEAM7 test problem on Github (if one replaces the Elmer provided plate mesh with the conductor of desired geometry etc).

I don't mind getting my hands dirty so any help would be appreciated. The magnetic reynolds number for my problem is >>1 so only an iterative method would work (velocity ~being high and dominant).
raback
Site Admin

Re: Coupling Magnetodynamics to Fluid dynamics

Post by raback »

Hi,

Sounds interesting!

What can you assume regarding the conductor? I guess it is rigid? How many degrees of freedom are there? One translations or beyond? Are you trying to solve a ramp up or a steady state with final velocity? Is the coil of finite length? What I'm trying to map what kind of simplications you can make. Is the unstationary flow the only thing breaking the symmetry.

Under favorable assumptions I think this can certainly be solved. The most difficult scenario would be one where you want to move the sphere a long distance. If the coil is finite you end up with some challenge on the mesh deformation that may make it hard to solve the high-Re flows. Devil lies in the detail...