Page 1 of 1

[fixed] bug in WhitneyAVHarmonicSolver with potential

Posted: 09 Feb 2023, 00:07
by uwestoehr
- I use Elmer daily build from February 8 2023
- in Elmer GUI, create a Body Force for the equation "MgHarm"
- there enter a number of your choice to the field "Electric Potential Im"
- generate the case.sif and you will see e.g. this:

Code: Select all

Body Force 1
  Name = "BodyForce 1"
  Electric Potential Im = 2
  Electric Potential = 3
End
Now run the solver.

result: you get the error

Code: Select all

LoadInputFile: Reading base load of sif file

ERROR:: LoadInputFile: 
ERROR:: LoadInputFile:  Unknown specifier: [2]
ERROR:: LoadInputFile:  In section: [body force 1]
ERROR:: LoadInputFile:  For property name:[electric potential im]
So despite the manual and ElmerGui states that one can set an imaginary potential, the WhitneyAVHarmonicSolver does not know about it.

Re: bug in WhitneyAVHarmonicSolver with potential

Posted: 09 Feb 2023, 00:29
by kevinarden
try like, below, sometimes not declaring type causes that error
Electric Potential Im = Real 2
Electric Potential = Real 3

Re: bug in WhitneyAVHarmonicSolver with potential

Posted: 09 Feb 2023, 01:09
by Rich_B
Hello Uwe,

As Kevin mentioned, the error message is typical of a missing type, in this case 'Real'. Adding Real in the data entry box eliminates the error message. If one searches the file 'SOLVER.KEYWORDS', then the keyword 'Electric Potential' shows up, but not 'Electric Potential Im', and so Elmersolver doesn't know what type to use for the variable. This error could be corrected by adding the keyword to SOLVER.KEYWORDS.

Please note that adding a minimal working example is always useful, and usually will help with getting timely and specific advice.

Thanks, Rich.

Re: bug in WhitneyAVHarmonicSolver with potential

Posted: 09 Feb 2023, 16:32
by raback
I just added the keyword in the SOLVER.KEYWORDS db. -Peter

Re: bug in WhitneyAVHarmonicSolver with potential

Posted: 13 Feb 2023, 13:27
by uwestoehr
raback wrote: 09 Feb 2023, 16:32 I just added the keyword in the SOLVER.KEYWORDS db. -Peter
Many thanks! I can conform the bug is fixed in the latest nightly build.